Home > > >
Welcome to Saint-Petersburg
>>> Sights of Saint-Petersburg >>>
The Summer Garden occupies an island
between the Fontanka, Moika, and the Swan Canal in Saint
Petersburg and shares its name with the adjacent Summer
Palace of Peter the Great.
The park, first conceived by Peter in 1704, was laid out by
foreign garden planners between 1712 and 1725 in a Dutch
Baroque style. Three years later, the walks were lined with
a hundred allegorical marble sculptures, executed by
Francesco Penso, Pietro Baratta, Marino Gropelli, Alvise
Tagliapietra, and other Venetian sculptors. In the late 20th
century, 90 surviving statues were moved indoors, while
modern replicas took their place in the park.
A delicate iron-cast railing, separating
the park from the public walk of the Palace Embankment, was
installed between 1771 and 1784 to a design by Georg von
Veldten. The grille is suspended between 36 granite columns
crowned with urns and vases. The poet Anna Akhmatova, among
others, considered the grille to be a pinnacle of
art-casting and one of the symbols of Saint-Petersburg.
Vasilievsky Island is an island in
Saint-Petersburg, bordered by the rivers Bolshaya Neva and
Malaya Neva (in the delta of Neva) from South and Northeast,
and by the Gulf of Finland from the West. Vasilievsky Island
is separated from Dekabristov Island by the Smolenka River.
Situated just across the river from the Winter Palace, it
constitutes a large portion of the city's historic center.
Two of the most famous Saint-Petersburg bridges, Palace
Bridge and Blagoveshchensky Bridge, connect it with the
mainland to the south. The Exchange Bridge and Tuchkov
Bridge across Malaya Neva connect it with Petrogradsky
Island. Vasilievsky Island is served by the
Vasileostrovskaya station and the Primorskaya station of
Saint Petersburg Metro.
The easternmost tip of the island, called Strelka (Spit,
literally Arrow), features a number of museums, including
the Old Saint-Petersburg Stock Exchange (Bourse) as well as
two Rostral columns, and is a popular tourist attraction.
The edifices lining the Universitetskaya Embankment along
the Bolshaya Neva include the Kunstkamera, Twelve Collegia,
Menshikov Palace, Imperial Academy of Sciences, and St.
Andrew's Cathedral - all dating from the 18th century.
Another notable attraction is an animated musical fountain
located just off the Spit.
Palace Square connecting Nevsky Prospekt
with Palace Bridge leading to Vasilievsky Island, is the
central city square of St Petersburg and of the former
Russian Empire. It was the setting of many events of
worldwide significance, including the Bloody Sunday (1905)
and the October Revolution of 1917.
View of the square with the Alexander Column from an open
window of the Hermitage Museum in the Winter Palace.
The earliest and most celebrated building on the square is
the baroque white-and-azure Winter Palace of Russian tsars
(1754-62), which gave the square its name. Although the
adjacent buildings are designed in the Neoclassical style,
they perfectly match the palace in their scale, rhythm, and
monumentality. The opposite, southern side of the square was
designed in the shape of an arc by George von Velten in the
late 18th century. These plans were executed half a century
later, when Alexander I of Russia envisaged the square as a
vast monument to the Russian victory over Napoleon and
commissioned Carlo Rossi to design the bow-shaped
Empire-style Building of the General Staff (1819-29), which
centers on a double triumphal arch crowned with a Roman
The centre of the square is marked with the Alexander Column
(1830-34), designed by Auguste de Montferrand. This red
granite column (the tallest of its kind in the world) is
47,5 metres high and weighs some 500 tons. It is set so well
that no attachment to the base is needed.
Vosstaniya Square is a major square in
the Central Business District of Saint Petersburg, Russia.
The square lies at the crossing of Nevsky Prospekt, Ligovsky
Prospekt, Vosstaniya Street and Goncharnaya Street, in front
of the Moskovsky Rail Terminal, which is the northern
terminus of the line connecting the city with Moscow.
Prior to the February Revolution, the square was known as
Znamenskaya, after the church of the Sign, which was built
there in 1794-1804 to a Neoclassical design by Fyodor
Demertsov. The square was a scene of many revolutionary
demonstrations and protests. After the Bolsheviks seized the
city, they had the square renamed into the Uprising Square
to commemorate these events. The church of the Sign was torn
down in 1940 to make room for the surface vestibule of the
Ploshchad Vosstaniya metro station (opened in 1955).
The Hero-City Obelisk was erected in order to commemorate
the 40th anniversary of the Victory Day in 1985 design by
Vladimir Lukyanov and Aleksandr Alymov.
Victory Square in Saint-Petersburg,
Russia, is named after the Soviet victory in the Great
Patriotic War. It is located in the very end of Moskovsky
Prospekt near Pulkovo Airport – not in the central part of
the city, despite this name being common in the former
Soviet cities as a central city square. The nearest metro
station is Moskovskaya.
Victory Square is home to the Monument to the Heroic
Defenders of Leningrad, which commemorates the victims and
survivors of the Siege of Leningrad. The monument, designed
by Sergey Speranskiy and Valentin Kamenskiy, and sculpted by
Mikhail Anikushin, was erected in 1975 to coincide with the
30th anniversary of the end of the war. It consists of a 48–metre
high obelisk, a large circular enclosure, and a subterranean
Field of Mars
The Field of Mars or Marsovo Polye is a
large park named after the Mars - Roman god of war situated
in the center of Saint-Petersburg, with an area of about 9
hectares. Bordering the Field of Mars to the north are the
Marble (Mramorny) Palace, Suvorova Square and Betskoi’s and
Saltykov’s houses. To the west are the Barraks of the
Pavlovsky Regiment. The Moyka river forms the boundary to
The history of Field of Mars goes back to the first years of
Saint-Petersburg. At that time it was called Grand Meadow.
Later there were organised solemnities in the honour of the
victory in the Great Northern War and the Field was renamed
Pleasure Field (Poteshnoe Pole). In the 1740s Pleasure Field
for a short while was turned into a walking park with paths,
lawn and flowers. Its next name – Tsarina’s Meadow – appears
after the royal family commissioned F.B. Rastrelli to build
the Summer Palace for Empress Catherine I. But near the end
of the 18th century Tsarina’s Meadow became a military
drilling ground where they erected monuments commemorating
the victories of the Russian Army and where parades and
military studies took place regularly.
The Leningradskiy Zoopark, sometimes
called the Saint Petersburg Zoo in Saint Petersburg, Russia,
is located in Alexander Park on the Petrogradskaya Storona.
It was founded by Sofia Gerhardt and Julius Gerhardt in
1865. It has about 2,000 animals from 410 species, including
The zoo was renamed from "Zoological Garden" to "Leningrad
Zoo" in 1952. In 1991 the name was retained, even after the
city resumed its former name of Saint-Petersburg.
Senate Square, formerly known as
Decembrists' Square in 1925-2008, and Peter's Square
(Ïåòðîâà ïëîùàäü), before 1925, is a city square in Saint
Petersburg, Russia. It is situated on the left bank of the
Bolshaya Neva, in front of Saint Isaac's Cathedral. In 1925
it was renamed Decembrists Square to commemorate the
Decembrist Revolt, which took place there in 1825.
The square is bounded by the Russian Admiralty to the east.
On the west is the Senate and Synod Building (now
headquarters of the Constitutional Court of Russia). The
Bronze Horseman monument adorns the square. On July 29,
2008, the square was renamed back to Senate Square.